show

On the the evening of August 12th, Slooh will capture the Perseid Meteor Shower in unique ways that will stretch a viewer’s perception of what it means to ‘spot’ a meteor. Along with dynamic visuals and engaging audio from various Slooh personalities, Slooh’s coverage will attempt to track shooting stars via their ionization “sound” ­ giving viewers another unique way to experience the meteor shower.

Coverage will begin on Tuesday, August 12th starting at 4:00 PM PDT / 7:00 PM EDT / 23:00 UTC ­ International Times: goo.gl/kb7Jqf ­ live from the Institute of Astrophysics, Canary Islands (IAC). Viewers can watch free on Slooh.com using their favorite PC or mobile device. The live image stream will be accompanied by a multitude of video segments on meteors from different Slooh personalities, including Slooh Astronomer Bob Berman. The broadcast can also be used as a soothing outdoor companion to any meteor viewing experience. Viewers can ask questions during the show by using hashtag #PerseidsSloohsation

Says Berman, “This is the best known and most beloved meteor shower. Though bright moonlight will affect the 2014 Perseids display, we will nonetheless be able to dramatically observe them all night long, and their superfast speeds as they collide with Earth’s atmosphere at 37 miles per second. Our accompanying narration will explore various little­known aspects of these visitors from space, which are debris from Comet Swift Tuttle.”

To view the Perseids, individuals in the Northern Hemisphere should look Northeast near the constellation Perseus in their night sky. The peak for this shower should occur sometime after midnight in the early hours of the morning.