Size Comparison Textless

ASTEROID ALERT!!

Discovered just 2 days ago, Slooh will provide live coverage tonight at 9pm EST of tiny asteroid 2015 YB (26-59 feet long), nicknamed “The Flea”, which will pass just 34,672 miles (0.2 lunar distances) from Earth, bringing it almost in range of our geosynchronous satellites which orbit at 22,000 miles. Named in honor of the world’s greatest soccer player Lionel Messi, the size and speed of this asteroid makes it very difficult to track.

During our live broadcast, tonight at 9 PM EST / 6 PM PST / 02:00UTC (12/19), host Paul Cox and Slooh Astronomer Bob Berman will discuss why it is so difficult to track these fast moving objects, and of course, the kind of damage a Flea like this would cause were it to impact Earth, and why like Messi it got through our best defenses sight unseen until 2 days ago.

Slooh has been tracking asteroids for years, and has gained quite the reputation for capturing this fast moving space rocks live. Most recently, we watched ‘Spooky’ the Halloween Asteroid fly by the Earth. We’ve also tracked ‘Pitbull‘, The $5 Trillion Asteroid, ‘The Beast‘ and many others. You can also read about the Space Act Agreement we signed with NASA to help protect Earth from near-Earth asteroids.