show

Slooh will present two free live broadcasts with the first, Quadrantid Meteor Shower, starting Friday night, January 3, at 3:30 PM PST/ 6:30 PM EST/ 23:30 UTC and the second, Earth’s Closest Approach to the Sun, starting Saturday morning, January 4, at 10 AM PST/ 1 PM EST/ 18 UTC.

The Quadrantids are usually one of the top meteor showers of the year as they are one of only three annual meteor showers that can exhibit over 100 meteors per hour. Using high sensitivity wide field cameras in the Canary islands and in Arizona, Slooh will show the Quadrantid meteors accompanied by narration from Slooh astronomer Bob Berman. The broadcast will continue throughout the night, taking advantage of both the rich nature of this annual shower, and very favorable sky conditions this year with the Moon entirely absent.

The following morning, Saturday, January 4, Slooh will cover the Earth at Perihelion — the day the Sun is closest to our planet and appears largest in our sky. Slooh will show real time images of the sun through the special Solar telescope at the Prescott Observatory. The broadcast will also include live commentary from Berman as well as Prescott Observatory Director Matt Francis. Slooh will show real-time solar storms and eruptions of other Sun phenomena starting at 10 AM Pacific Time / 1:00 PM Eastern Time. Moreover, this is also the date of the latest sunrise in much of the United States.

Hosts

  • Bob Berman