soid

In an ongoing mission to share a live view of the Universe, Slooh will celebrate Astronomy Day by producing 11 hours of free, live celestial programming for the world to enjoy. Viewers can watch live on their PC or IOS/Android mobile device.

Live coverage begins on Saturday at 12:30PM PDT / 3:30PM EDT / 19:30UTC, and ends eleven hours later at 11:30PM PDT / 2:30AM EDT / 06:30UTC. International times here: http://goo.gl/LrBqS The broadcast will be split into separate shows, which begin on the hour, each focusing on a particular topic and various celestial objects.

Slooh’s Paul Cox will host the 11-hour live extravaganza and will be accompanied by several guests, including astronomer Bob Berman. Slooh’s broadcast will start by telling the story of our Universe illustrated with live images from Slooh’s robotic telescopes. From ancient swarms of stars as old as the Universe; to galaxies merging in huge cosmic collisions; vast clouds of interstellar gas and dust, where giant hot stars are bursting into life; through to the cataclysmic explosions of stars as they end their lives, leaving behind beautiful nebulae filled with the building blocks for life; and of course our own solar system – with the gas giant Jupiter and attendant moons, ice giants Neptune and Uranus, and those intriguing left-overs of solar system construction – comets and Near-Earth Asteroids. The world will be viewing live images of these and many other objects direct from Slooh’s Observatory at the world-class astronomical site in the Canary Islands.

Bob Berman, author and Astronomy magazine columnist says, “I am proud to be part of this marathon-of-the-universe. It’s the first time in history that people everywhere can observe dozens of full-color celestial splendors in real-time, free on Slooh’s homepage, as tracked by major telescopes and displayed on their home monitor or portable device. This may mark a new era in the appreciation of our cosmos.”

Paul Cox, Slooh’s Outreach Co-ordinator said on producing and hosting the 11-hour live marathon: “Even with the use of Slooh’s patented real-time imaging system, this is going to be incredibly challenging event – and several people have warned me against it. However, we’re passionate about bringing live astronomy to a wider audience and making science more accessible. To paraphrase a famous speech, “We choose to do these things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard!” Cox recently completed a run of over 40 consecutive nightly shows of live color astronomy, and said he’s searching for a new challenge!