uranus-153572_1280

The solar system’s third­ largest planet arrives at its annual line­up with the Sun and Earth on Thursday, October 3rd ­­bringing it to its opposition, when it’s at its largest and brightest of the year. Viewers can capture a first look of Uranus along with its moons on Slooh.com, Thursday, October 3rd, starting at 6:30 PM PDT / 9:30 PM EDT / 01:30 UTC (10/4) ­ viewers can watch live on their computer or mobile device.

Slooh will be broadcasting in 720p high­definition, live from their facility on the Canary Islands, off the coast of west Africa. A Slooh broadcast team comprised of Paul Cox and Bob Berman will provide commentary as the event unfolds.

Uranus, discovered in 1781 by astronomer William Herschel, is the seventh planet from the Sun at a distance of 1,787,000,000 miles (2,877,000,000 km). Uranus takes 84 Earth
years to complete one orbit and its atmosphere is mostly hydrogen and helium, with a small amount of methane gas which gives Uranus its peculiar blue­-green color. Uranus has a ring system, 27 moons, and was visited by Voyager 2 in 1986.

To see Uranus during its opposition that night, astronomy hobbyists should point their telescope a third of the way up towards the southeastern sky in the constellation Cetus at around 10 PM local time.

“It’s been a fascinating place ever since its 1781 discovery,” says Slooh astronomer Bob Berman. “Spinning on its side like no other planet in the known universe, and with a distinct green color unlike anything else, this third­largest planet in the solar system also has wild satellites that we’ll be able to observe that night. How many people have any idea that there exist moons with names like Puck and Juliet?”

Where to Watch

  • The Slooh Clubhouse
  • Hosts

    • Bob Berman
    • Contact Details

      press@slooh.com