kahl-68145

On the the evening of September 8th from North America, Slooh will broadcast the Super Harvest Moon live from the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands, off the coast of Africa. Slooh’s live coverage will begin at 6:30 PM PDT / 9:30 PM EDT /01:30 UTC (8/9) ­ International times here: goo.gl/5EGHSN ­ with Slooh host Geoff Fox and Slooh astronomer Bob Berman. Viewers can ask questions during the show by using hashtag #Sloohsupermoon

Says Slooh astronomer Bob Berman, “Whether we call this a super Harvest Moon or a Harvest supermoon, and whether we fuss over the fact that lunar perigee happened just one night before this moon was full, there’s no denying that it’s the Harvest Moon. This is the year’s most famous full moon, and one of only two that even have a name. Yet it’s bathed in myth and misconception even without all the extra “supermoon” business. It will be fun to explore the true secrets of the Harvest Moon while watching it live.”

Added Berman, “Rarely has a full moon been shrouded in more hype and confusion than this one. Is it super, or not? What does a supermoon mean, anyway? Why is there so much confusion about even what night is the Harvest Moon ­­ and why are some in the media wrongly calling it Tuesday? Slooh will get it all straight and have a howlingly good time doing it ­­ watching it live, starting at six thirty Monday night.”