show

Slooh will train its all ­sky camera on the heavens Saturday night, December 21, to catch the strange Ursid Meteor shower with coverage starting at 2:30 PM PST / 5:30 PM EST / 22:30 UTC. The Broadcast will be accompanied by expert commentary from Slooh Host Bob Berman.

The Ursids are considered a very minor meteor shower in many respects, but the timing falling around the Winter Solstice make this the first meteor shower of the season officially. The Ursids are named for the constellation of Ursa Minor and are associated with the comet 8P/Tuttle.

Says SLOOH astronomer Bob Berman, “It’s true that the Ursids are neither as famous, nor deliver the brilliant and frequent “shooting stars’ seen during the annual August Perseid or December Geminid meteor showers. Nonetheless, the Ursids, though normally consisting of sparse, faint members, sometimes put on genuinely eye­catching displays of nearly a meteor a minute. The unknown and surprising nature of these variable displays is what keeps us watching.”

The broadcast on SLOOH.com is free to the public, and will include audio narration of the live visual feed.