planet-26617_1280

On Monday, January 21st, the Moon will appear amazingly close in the sky to the largest planet in our solar system, Jupiter. In North America, the Waxing Gibbous Moon – the lunar phase between first quarter Moon and a full Moon – will be approximately one degree south of Jupiter appearing to be only a pen width (seen at arm’s length) apart. Slooh will cover the event live on Slooh.com, free to the public, Monday, January 21st at 6:00 PM PST / 9:00 PM EST / 02:00 UTC (1/22) – International times here: http://goo.gl/xySeo – accompanied by real-time discussions with Slooh President, Patrick Paolucci, Astronomy Magazine columnist, Bob Berman, and astro-imager Matt Francis of the Prescott Observatory. Viewers can watch live on their PC or IOS/Android mobile device at t-minus zero.

By good fortune, the Great Red Spot will be traveling across the middle of Jupiter’s disk during Slooh’s live broadcast.

In North America, if skies are clear, individuals can view the conjunction by looking at the Moon and finding the brightest star in the sky next to the Moon, which will be Jupiter. Individuals with binoculars or telescope may capture more detail of Jupiter, including some of the satellites.

Where to Watch

  • Live Stadium
  • Hosts

    • Bob Berman
    • Contact Details

      press@slooh.com