sunset-396633_1920

Slooh will broadcast a free, real-time feed of the Annular Solar Eclipse live from telescope feeds in Japan, California, Arizona, and New Mexico. Viewers can capture a first look of the eclipse on Slooh, Sunday, May 20th starting at 2:30 PM PDT / 5:30 PM EDT / 21:30 UTC as the Moon’s shadow begins its journey over Japan. Slooh will track the eclipse as it leaves Japan and lands on the shores of the Western United States starting at 5:00 PM PDT / 8:00 PM EDT / 00:00 UTC (5/21), where their professional broadcast team of astronomy luminaries and solar experts will pick-up the event and explain what you are seeing.

The full broadcast can be accessed at Slooh’s homepage, where viewers will be able to snap and share eclipse pics directly from Slooh live feeds to their Pinterest boards. Furthermore, viewers will be treated to an impressive panel of guests, including BBC contributor, Dr. Lucie Green, solar researcher at the Mullard Space Science Laboratory, UCL’s Department of Space and Climate Physics, and Bob Berman, author of The Sun’s Heartbeat and contributing editor and monthly columnist for Astronomy Magazine.

Because the Moon is at a point furthest from Earth, otherwise known as apogee, it is too small to fully cover the Sun, leaving a thin ring of sunlight or “annulus”. The path of annularity reaches over 186 miles (300 km) wide and travels at a velocity of 0.68 miles (1.1 kilometers) per second.

“The Western United States will enjoy bizarre solar effects that only occur every few decades. In the annularity path, which will be about 147 miles (237 km) wide when hitting our shores, the black Moon will stand like a bullseye in front of the Sun, its motion through space in-your-face obvious. In a wider zone that includes most Western States, the Sun becomes an eerie narrow crescent. At maximum eclipse, the lighting on the ground will grow strange. Shadows of trees and bushes will contain thousands of tiny crescents, as spaces between leaves become pinhole cameras,” said Bob Berman.

As most people will not have the ability to view the Annular Eclipse, Berman suggests tuning into Slooh’s live coverage on their computers or mobile devices. “Slooh will not only present exquisite continuous multi-site live eclipse images using special telescopes to reveal intriguing solar phenomena,” he said, “but will also provide nonstop coverage by solar experts.”

Where to Watch

  • Japan
    • USA