sun

On September 11th from North America, Slooh will broadcast a new, Earth directed X1.6­Class Solar Flare live from Prescott, Arizona ­ showing the newly ignited region in amazing detail. Slooh’s live coverage will begin on Thursday at 10:00 AM PDT / 1:00 PM EDT /17:00 UTC ­ International times here: http://goo.gl/E57GTO ­ with Slooh host Geoff Fox, Slooh astronomer Bob Berman, and and Prescott observatory owner, Matt Francis. Viewers can ask questions during the show by using hashtag #Sloohflare

“What solar experts fear most,” says Berman, “is a recurrence of the huge Coronal Mass Ejection events of 1921 and 1859. A government­sponsored panel in 2008 estimated that such a solar event today would likely destroy the US electrical grid, inflict a staggering $1 to $2 trillion dollars worth of damage, and require over a year to repair. So it’s more than of mere academic interest to monitor and observe these violent events as they unfold. Plus, they’re amazing to watch.