show

Slooh will broadcast the Geminid Meteor Shower live all night on Friday, December 13th starting at 2:30 PM PST / 5:30 PM EST/ 22:30 UTC. Slooh’s All-Sky camera located on the Canary Islands, off the coast of west Africa, will provide a wide-field view of the Geminids. The broadcast will include expert audio commentary from Bob Berman explaining the details of this years meteor shower. Coverage will last until dawn on the 14th in the Canary Islands which is approximately 10 PM PST (12/13)/ 1 AM EST (12/14)/ 6 UTC (12/14).

The Geminids are considered to be one of the most consistently active meteor showers of the year appearing to originate from the Gemini constellation, also the origin of the shower’s name. However, this year the shower is expected to produce a modest 40 to 60 meteors an hour due in part to the nearly full moon it will share the sky with for much of the night. In other years, the Geminids have been seen to produce as many as 150 meteors an hour. The meteors that are visible with appear to be white or a slightly yellow hue, and will move at 22 miles/second–a relatively slow pace for meteors.

“The Geminids are very strange because they hit Earth sideways. It is the difference between being in a car and slamming head on into somebody as opposed to someone backing into you sideways, perhaps coming out of a driveway and crunching into you gently. These meteors hit us gently. While Summer’s Perseids strike Earth at 37 miles per second, that’s amazingly fast, and the Leonids are even a little bit faster, hitting us at just over 40 miles a second, these Geminids hit us at only 22 miles a second,” says Slooh Astronomer Bob Berman.