sunset-396633_1920

On the the evening of September 18th from North America, Slooh will broadcast live views of the bright type II supernova candidate in southern hemisphere galaxy NGC 1566 from the Slooh member controlled observatory located at the Pontificia Universidad Católica De Chile (PUC). This brilliant spot of light appears close to the central bulge of the galaxy, and was discovered just a week ago by the All Sky Automated Survey for SuperNovae, or ASASSN (assassin), which gives this supernova candidate the killer moniker of ASASSN-14ha. A fitting name for such an explosively destructive object!

Slooh’s live coverage will begin Thursday night, 9/18 at 9:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (9/19) / 04:00 UTC (9/19) – International times here: goo.gl/ogI4Mg – with accompanying expert commentary by Slooh Astronomer Bob Berman. #SloohAssassin

Says Berman, “Supernovae are the most violent events in the universe. And among the most useful, since their brightness can help pin down the distance to their parent galaxy. In this case, a rather violent and gorgeous spiral galaxy that’s not too terribly far away has just had a star explode not in its spiral arms, which is the usual neighborhood for such cataclysms, but almost smack at the core. This combination of extreme conditions and odd circumstances makes it a riveting and worthy event for SLOOH’s real-time monitoring. This should be an exciting broadcast.” NGC 1566 resides in the constellation Dorado, and is visible from the Southern Hemisphere. This spiral galaxy can be seen through most amateur telescopes, but distinguishing the supernova candidate from the rest of the galaxy will require larger magnification than the average amateur scope, which will be provided in real time via Slooh through its own Southern Hemisphere observatory telescope in Chile.