cer

On the morning of March 6th from North America, Slooh will celebrate the arrival of the Dawn spacecraft at the dwarf planet Ceres through live imagery of Ceres from our feed partners in Australia. Coverage will begin on Friday, March 6th, starting at 10:00 AM PST / 1:00 PM EST / 18:00 UTC (02/20) – International Times: http://goo.gl/Uosvkv.

The free live broadcast will be manned by Slooh Host, Will Gater, and Slooh Astronomer, Bob Berman. The Slooh team will be joined by special guest Dr. Lucy McFadden, Co-Investigator for the Dawn project. Twitter users can ask the team questions to answer live on the air via the hashtag #SloohDawn

Says Will Gater, “Few astronomical events are as exciting as seeing a world up-close for the very first time; with Dawn’s imminent arrival at Ceres that’s exactly what we’ve got to look forward to over the coming days, weeks and months. The mission should tell us a great deal about the history and composition of this enigmatic dwarf planet. And, as we’ve seen with those mysterious bright ‘spots’, there will always be thrilling surprises to investigate along the way. I can’t wait to see what Dawn will show us!”

Slooh will watch closely on the morning that Dawn is expected to begin its orbit of Ceres, discussing what points of interest have popped up and what we can expect as the spacecraft gets up close and personal with the largest object in the asteroid belt. The dwarf planet is not quite bright enough to be seen with the naked eye, but a persistent stargazer with binoculars can spot the object presently in the constellation of Sagittarius.